In Memory and Thanksgiving


The morning sky sixteen years later was remarkable and the day dawned cool. God protect the families who lost so much, and our Nation.

Meanwhile back at the ranch, yesterday we started with an old Danish .30-06 ammo box, a $29.97 hand-cart from Home Depot, and a couple of 16″ wheels and a piece of 1/2″ rod from Tractor Supply (wheels, the most expensive parts)…

Sawzall got the axle off and drill press got the holes drilled for clevis-pins.

Grinder smoothed out the ends.

Bolts hooked-up the old ammo box, and a caster kept-up the front end high, necessitated by the bigger wheels as the axle moved up 4-3/4″ inches.

A bit of scrap bolted up to a cross-member and notched for the rifle and shotgun.

Wheel detail:

Got me a Cowboy Action Shootin’ Cart. There are still some refinements to be completed.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

12 thoughts on “In Memory and Thanksgiving

  1. Aren’t projects like your cart fun! I like re purposing things, it stretches the ol brain cells from time to time. Pictures when you get it the way you want it, please!

  2. I’m going to suggest putting two casters on that box. You may be unhappy with the typical roll-off-toward-a-corner action that a center support gives that setup. In this case, 3 points is not stable.

    A plastic chain or a wood bar to keep the barrels in their slots would be good. Even if you put slats in the box, it would be nice if the barrels don’t hit the ground if someone bumps into it and tips it over.

    Neat box! I’m wondering if you can re-work the lid to lock the guns in place, but leave them for display.

  3. Nice job! But may I suggest you devise some way to secure the forends into that cross-member you fabricated? Maybe a leather strap, a pivoting piece of wood, or even Velcro? I’d hate to see your stuff fall out when you hit a patch of rough ground….

  4. I just couldn’t post anything “9-11 relevant” on the blog today, so thanks for the subtle reminder.

    The tote cart looks quite nice. I have a feeling I’ll be building something similar once we get settled in our new home.

    • The Cowboy stuff has totally gotten me away from all the Suburban Ninja-AR Tacticool scene – which is a relief, plus it’s fun shooting steel and it’s fast so there’s actual training and practice involved, just not the Blast-em’ Sandbox Warrior thing, but perhaps the Original Sandbox guys. F-Troop!

    • Yeah, I never got into that “Urban Assault” thing, either.

      My little Marlin 1894 carbine in 357 is actually an 1894CB model, with the longer octagon barrel, and was meant for CB Action Shooting. I’ve never done any, but I can ring steel at 100yds with it shot after shot after shot.

      It’s a better rifle than I am a shooter!

    • The 1894CB was my first Marlin rifle. I looked around a while, and it got great reviews. I picked it in 357 because the reviews I read on Chuck Hawks’ website indicated the 44 Mag didn’t have that much more “punch”, even out of a longer barrel, than the 357 did, but had much lower recoil. Never having fired an 1894 in 44 Mag I don’t know if that’s true or not, but the recoil it does have is modest.

      So, I went on Gun Broker and did my shopping. All the 1894’s were “on allocation” at the time, and my local gun shop couldn’t give me any delivery date. I found one “in stock” on Gun Broker, and it had a “buy it now” at a very reasonable price, so I bought it.

      When I received it I realized I’d bought the “Cowboy” version, and was pretty upset with myself.

      Until I took it to the range and shot it!

      Sweet little rifle. Very fast pointing, very mild recoil, and more accurate than I am. I’ve used both “regular” 357 rounds in it, and the Hornady LeverEvolution ammo, and just like in my Marlin 336 30-30, the Hornady ammo shoots a bit higher at 100 yds, but has greater muzzle velocity and higher energy with little or no difference in the recoil.

      I just love that little rifle!

    • The leader of our Cowboy group I’ve been working with has an 1873 in .357 that I tried shooting, thing has almost zero recoil! Just hold it to your shoulder and run the lever – it’s like chopping wood, pow, pow, pow!

Leave a Reply

