Thanks Mike, punches have consequences!

For Christmas my friend COEMike-from-Back-East sent me a neat little book: Gunsmithing with simple hand tools, by Andrew Dubino, © 1987 Stackpole Books – obviously with the intent to torture me. Just right. In my Grandfather’s estate a whole selection of small files and stuff came to me, and apparently I’m not adverse to torture.
Did I show you the new vise? You see how things are coming along? It’s an incredible and clean NOS unit, just needs soft-jaws and some parallel machinist clamps…
img_1228x1000
So I was working on “squaring up” the details of the ’53 International Harvester M1 Garand, and in particular the rear sight that was boogered-up with a very non-standard Marbles-type peep-something. I appreciate the effort to thread the vestigial aperture post-hole, but there’s just not enough meat on the bone.
img_1080x800-600
The threads for the peep were cut pretty coarse and non-squarely, and that could mean all kinds of things at over 100-yards.
Looking in my bin-of-stuff (and finally organizing it) I found a leftover base (and pinion knobs) from the CMP ’43 Springfield Armory Garand – and so acquired a National Match hooded aperture from Brownells. Some material needed to be removed. So I bought a fine-grade India stone.
Nice, Garnet is my birthstone, so I began to hone-down each side. It takes a while as each side needs to be dressed until it fits in the channel, and it stresses your finger-tips to control and push smoothly across the stone to make a smooth surface-cut and remove material.
img_1217x800
And that is where I ran into the staking/punch marks, as they penetrated the channel – and had to drive (cut) past them. Those punch-marks, presumably to tighten-up the old sight, left real serious dimples on the inner wall of the aperture channel.
img_1220x800
Until I honed-down the aperture side rails enough, the dimples from the staking/punching prevented the aperture rail to move freely.
img_1223x800
img_1225x800
img_1227x800
Now we’re good to go.
img_1226x800

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

6 thoughts on “Thanks Mike, punches have consequences!

  1. Nice job. Have run into one or two replacement apertures that had to be “worked over” a bit at the bottom end to allow the sight to fully bottom out, which should put the 100 yd. zero about eight clicks up from bottom.

    Have also had the joy of shooting an 80 shot match at the Sacramento Shooting Valley Shooting Center (sometime in the late ’90s). In August. Not a stick of shade anywhere. Third relay, prone slow fire, 500 yard line, late afternoon. Shot number 18 of 20 was a 10. Shot number 19 was just in the five ring at six o’clock. At this point, my brain is sloshing around in a haze of Gatorade, and in desperation grabs onto the notion that I may have erred in my reloading somehow. Now I’m afraid that if I adjust my sights from a single bad round (it wasn’t) my last shot will be out the top. So I don’t change anything and shot my last shot–another five at six o’clock.

    So now I’ve completed my string of fire. I come up to my knees from prone. The shooter sitting on his stool behind me recording my score smiles knowingly, leans forward, and applies gentle but firm downward pressure with his thumb to my rear sight hood. It promptly goes “bre-e-e-e-p” and slides to the bottom. The elevation tension screw had worked loose, and the sight ratcheted down from recoil on shot 19.

    • I’ve had that happen with my rear sight! Vertical stringing throughout the match until I missed everything in rapid-seated. “bre-e-e-e-p” is right!
      Now I have a special Garand rear-sight screwdriver (made by Wheeler) to hopefully deal with that.

  2. Totally glad that worked out for you Keith!!! Nice work. I think I have that vise and I know I have that mat:) Thank you for that!

Comments are closed.