Triggering my OCD

As the field fills with water and the sky drenches down, I’m going through an old bandoleer of M2 Ball ammo I got from my Uncle and loading 8-round Garand en-bloc clips for the upcoming Hillary apocalypse, when I begin to notice that there are markings on the clips that I never paid attention to before… And BAM! What is this? Who are they? And how did it escape my prior attention??
Fortunately my Bing-fu is pretty good and I find answers, lots and lots of answers. Enough answers to stop searching and rest. *sigh*
The many BW-code clips (Borg Warner) in this particular bandoleer suggest a Post-WWII origins, which would fit in with my Uncle’s timeline andmy new ’53 International Harvester. The empty DAQ marked clip had me puzzled: Dominion Arsenal (Quebec) – I did not know we played guns’n’ammo with the Canucks. I did not know that. The frequent IS (International Silver) clips reminded me that IS made magazines for M1 Carbines, both during and post-War. There’s a LOT of subcontractors of course, as always with M1-stuff whether it’s Rifles or Carbines – and people have sorted it out to the most minute detail. Phew!
Apparently the SF ones kinda suck: Serini France – the Chauchat of en-bloc clips.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

10 thoughts on “Triggering my OCD

  1. I have been most fortunate in this regard. I started shooting NRA Highpower about 1980 in Northern Calif. Some of the local clubs (100 yard ranges) were D.C.M. affiliated, and could draw a season’s worth of ammo from the Sharpe Army Depot south of Stockton. They got it as issued, 192 rounds in bandoleers in 30 cal ammo cans. If you were shooting a rifle chambered in 30-06, upon request they would issue you enough ammo for the match plus five rounds for sighters. However, they did not care what ammo you actually shot in the match. You could purchase the empty ammo cans for $2. I think the empty bandoleers were two for a buck.

    When D.C.M. became C.M.P. (Thanks to POS Teddy K.) The clubs sold the ammo, at their cost, I believe. I think a single bandoleer was $7.50. They would let you purchase a match’s worth of ammo outright, regardless of what caliber you were actually shooting.

    So, after a few decades of competition (got my Master card 1990) I managed to accumulate a tidy stash of full ammo cans. I also have a large coffee can full of empty clips, and another one full of card board pocket protectors.

    For anyone interested, I’m sure there is something on YouTube showing how to cut garand clips with a dremel tool and a cut-off wheel to make a single load device, or two or five round clips. The reversible 2/5 round clip in the Bloke on the Range video looks pretty slick.

    • Sorry for the delayed response, but that is a remarkable record of achievement! My beginnings began later and were similar in equipment and issue, but I couldn’t devote the time to become much more than Sharpshooter level. My friend who got me involved shoots Master and does Leg Match things, but since we moved I have had no communication with anybody down there. It’s like another world…

  2. I’ve got a YUGE box of “new” clips for my Garand. I’ll have to see if they have any markings stamped on them. Most of the mil surp ammo I’ve bought for it came sans clips, so I bought well over 100 empty ones.

    Hope I didn’t buy a bunch of poor quality ones…..

    • The only issues I ever heard about in particular, even 3rd hand, were the French ones. Mainly clean is better and ones with over-thick parkerizing can be sticky…?
      Reportedly the specs were easy enough to achieve, that it enticed small shops to try and fulfill Gov. contracts.

Comments are closed.