’53 International Harvester

I had some money burning a hole in my pocket from the sale of my old ’68 Model-10 Smith and the Ninja-Noveske, and at my local neighborhood Candyland there was a piece of farm equipment on the rack that just today they dropped the price on. Magnetism. A ’53 International Harvester M1-Garand of the “gap letter” version, with a sweet wood stock and smooth parkerizing.
Two is one, and one is none, so I really DO need another Garand. Besides the reloading dies are ready for it. I know how to run this better than the AR’s, and even though it’s heavier, what the hell it’s like an older country-cousin in my age-group. Donny from Nebraska. Welcome (back) to the country Uncle Oscar, where farm equipment is lethal. Pics will have to come later.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

11 thoughts on “’53 International Harvester

  1. My holy grail collection has always been a truck, a typewriter, and a sewing machine—IHC Garand, Underwood carbine, Singer 1911A1.

  2. Splendid.

    I ran across a very original (mint-ish, not abused) H&R Garand about 10 or 12 years ago and it was a true steal at under a grand. It was a post-war model that was never issued, considering its condition, but functional and near perfect.

    I passed on it and have been kicking myself ever since for not picking it up.

    Good luck and enjoy, sir.

  3. I’ll always have a soft spot for a good Garand.

    I grew up shooting trap and skeet in competition, but the first non-shotgun competition I ever shot was DCM High-Power with a club-owned Garand. Never missed a Saturday match the whole season. I’d pay my $10, draw my ammo, and go to the club gun rack and hope nobody had taken my favorite M1 before I got to it. What a way to spend Saturday mornings when I was 18.

    There’s just something special about handling that old but very capable War Horse. Enjoy your new family member!

Comments are closed.