The Old Shed

It’s been a busy time on the Ranch, with the improved weather I’ve been able to get a bunch more done on the embankment and we kept busy throughout the weekend. Wednesday I picked up a pile of “Gorilla Hair” bark to spread on the embankment (14 bags). I got up onto the steep part of the hillside and began to sift the mulch around, close to the top by the fence and working my way down around the small shrubs, flattening out the dead grasses until I ran out of covering and all the bags were gone. Starting to look like a plan coming-together.
The shed got un-packed on Thursday. I un-bolted everything I could immediately see and removed the weed-whacker, gas cans, and spreader – and such materials as a couple heavy half-sacks of concrete mortar-mix that I threw into the little mower-trailer. I drove that out around the field to park by the little pear tree, at which time I discovered the tires on the little trailer were getting threadbare as well as deflated – so I fixed that.
Friday we stopped-in an picked-up another 24-sacks of the Gorilla Hair stuff and dropped it off on the side of the house and then attacked and tore-down the plastic shed. I’m not sure the lifespan of a “Suncast” shed, but the sun and UV-rays had done a real number on it, and even my neighbor who wondered if it might be salvageable saw clearly that it was not. The general guess was it preceded the previous owner and probably the other guy before that, and was at least 15-yaers old. The roof-panels had been caulked at least once, and the “rafter” steel beams had collapsed at one end. We broke it down everything went into two piles: metal and plastic.
For dinner I grilled marinated chicken breast, and two small petite fillets of beef. With a bottle of Boeger Hangtown Red and a salad it was yummy!
img_0229x800
img_0972x800
Saturday morning we slid the plastic panels up into the truck fairly easily, running them in on the edges, but some bigger stuff had to stay behind: the metal and the “dormer” ends, so we had to make two dump runs before calling it a day and that included leaving behind some eight sheets of 3’x5′ 1/4″ HardieBacker cement board that the shed-builder had laid-down beneath the plastic flooring. We left that and the mildew and mold that had grown up on it to burn in the sun, until Sunday – it was kinda nasty. There’s an 11’X 14′-7″ base of pressure-treated lumber laid down into the gravel for a “foundation,” but it’s not exactly square and I may need to pound a stake into the ground and then try to knock it into square-shape before the new shed comes on Thursday…
img_0975x800
Sunday morning we bagged all the broken-up pieces of HardiBacker for a final dump-run, and we were done…until this morning when we went out and totally depleted our local Home Depot of the last and final 26-sacks of furry Gorilla Hair mulch. It’s easy enough for me to cut a sack, and with a sifting motion spread it around – and the embankment is much improved by it in appearance and traction. There’s better definition between ground and plants (and stepping stones). On the steep hard-pack hillside where my feet tended to slip and slide on the leaves and debris, a layer of this fluffy stuff and my step is much more sure-footed. The next part of the embankment to cover is also less steep and the in-fill will be easier, except for some weeding, and I think it will finish-up pretty quickly and before the rain comes.
embankment_panorama2x1500

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

8 thoughts on “The Old Shed

  1. It’s looking great! What a busy beaver you are. Can’t wait for more photos!
    I have had five, very sick, leylandii cypress taken out and one of the big oaks pruned up. (It was over hanging the garage). Slow going with the rest of the jungle. Doing it all by myself at 70, but no one every said I couldn’t so I keep trying.

    • You go girl!! I plod along and sweat a lot but it’s good exercise for my arms. πŸ™‚ It ain’t gonna do itself and since I can, I better get to it! If I hired some guy the cost would be all labor, and I’m free for that.

  2. That’s pretty amazing progress. My wife and I find we can get more done now the temperatures are cooler. I wonder if that factors into your project productivity too?

    • Cooler does factor-in, also the impending rain this weekend adds a hurry-up! Got the 26-bags up on the rest of the hillside and it looks like I need a bit more (ten or twelve) if there is any left at HD!

Comments are closed.