220 Rounds, Day-1

UPDATED: After a week of carry it was time to run some rounds through the Shield-9. I had a TWO 50-count box of Wally-World Winchester 124 grain JHP’s (and I had already loaded my 6, 8-round magazines and two 7-round mags with the JHP’s), a 100-rounds of Winchester 115gr. FMJ – and a 20-count box of $$ Federal 150gr HST JHP’s. (end edit)
At the range we set targets at 7-yards and proceeded to load magazines and blast away, and see where the points of impact varied. The difference was slight between the 150-HST’s and the 124-JHP’s, and I seemed to be tossing everything low and left.
I was mixing rounds too. Some of the blunts with some of the JHP’s interspersed, just to see what effect that might make and where they might string. It was an experiment on my part with no scientific basis or scoring, with a factory-fresh gun with factory-fresh magazines.
Several magazines later I tried loading one, ejecting the magazine and re-filling it, and re-seating the magazine – and I got a light-strike. Stoppage! No Bang! Hmmm…
So rack the slide and catch the round, what do I see but a dimpled primer. Are they hard primers or seated low? I proceeded to fire-off the magazine and re-loaded the (FMJ) in another batch of rounds and everything fired-off OK.
More shooty goodness and several magazines later another light strike. Huh?
Thinking “Factory Fresh” I thought, “What about lube?” So to rectify that dry-feel, I took of the slide and got out my Brownell’s “Friction Defense” gun-oil with the pink tint that looks suspiciously like ATF and dribbled some on the barrel-hood and rails.
More shooting ensued, then another stoppage, a failure to eject. This is getting interesting!
fte2
WTF? My buddy in the neighboring lane had told me that his recoil assembly had taken a dump (it broke, and he had to get a new one) and that it required a lot of lube to make the double-coil springs run right. So the top comes off again and along with some Shooter’s Choice ere-grease on the rails, I re-oiled the barrel hood, and slopped a bunch on the recoil-spring assembly.
More gunny-goodness until the brass runs out and we depart. I need to buy more ammo.
One thing we noticed, the striker seems to leave a drag mark – or the pin is longitudinal shaped like a Glock? My buddies ejected brass had the same shape.
strikes2
At home I decided to change the trigger…

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

One thought on “220 Rounds, Day-1

  1. My Ruger KP345 does the same thing. I wonder if it’s endemic to plastic frame/steel slide. I now put rifle grease on the rails. Causes a bit of a mess as it flies off, but at least it doesn’t jam. I also bought a Springfield 1911 which never jams anyway.

Comments are closed.