Nasty Turd Patch

IMG_0679x1000
Whacking away at the weeds, there’s still a lot of this stuff is Rumex obtusifolius – Obtuse indeed! A single plant may produce up to 60,000 seeds so there’s a multi-year project in this. Even in Ireland: Docks are unpalatable, are a poor quality feed, and animals will only eat them if nothing else is available. ” After the second year, the plant continues growth and can become 3 to 4 feet tall and wide.” We’re at that stage for sure…
IMG_0677x1000
Nasty little turd. Cut it open and it’s orange-ish.
IMG_0681x1000
On the other hand some hippies like to eat this stuff, although I think just the greens. I’m not convinced because to me it looks just so unappealing and skin-crawling creepy, and I’m not a big greens-eater or a gardener anyhow. Although I’m not afraid of salads mine are more traditional lettuce and cabbage and stuff. It possibly qualifies as a Paleo Diet kinda drive-by food thing. Maybe. If Paleo-Man ate turds.
IMG_0680x1000
Also according to the University of Maryland…this weed is slightly poisonous. The milky sap can also cause dermatitis or blistering of the skin.
IMG_0682x1000
This is not gonna be a one-and-done project, especially if the kind of rains we got signal an end to drought conditions. Getting into the thickets of this stuff is squishy, that is where it’s still wet and muddy as the Ohio State Weed-Guide states: It is usually found on floodplains, along borders of woods, around buildings, in poorly drained and nutrient rich soils, but is also common in some upland sites and on acid soils. Sounds about right.
IMG_0676x1000
Chop-chop! I notice where my neighbor grazes his cattle there is much less of this stuff, but the land across the fence is much more dry and he has probably been spraying for it longer.

UPDATE: So upon Brig’s advice, I gathered my Corona 1-3/4″ hand-pruners in glove, and waded into the chest-high grassy-hell like Sherman’s march on Atlanta, laying waste to three yard-bags full of tops and seeds and stalks. I started with attempting to yank at them, but after one bag-full I thought better of it before my back gave out. The next two bags included hunks of grasses as well as stalks, and even some big tuffets of large rooty chunks as gave up the earth. BWWAHAHAHA!
I’m sure I missed a few and many seeds were already scatteredand some stalks lay-down hidden in the thick grass, but I got all I could see.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

10 thoughts on “Nasty Turd Patch

  1. I’ve been doing that with dandelions for the past seventeen years. Dig them out before they seed and my lawn (a significant corner lot) is almost dandelion free. It works but it is definitely labor intensive.

    • I think that’s the only way to do it, hand-work. I need the exercise, and down south here there’s a significant number of days when rain does NOT fall so it’s not like you can’t take a break and do other things, but you have to keep after it seasonally.

  2. Appreciating the time and energy you put into your blog and in depth information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.|

Comments are closed.