The Embankment

IMG_0423_24x1000
The purple Crepe Myrtle tree had outgrown its welcome and needed a haircut. And the Plum that had the Ranch’s power-lines running through it. And all along the fence line were too may oleanders – I call them Cal-Trans plants because they are used so often in roadwork.
IMG_0449_50x1000
So they cut and sliced and diced the embankment until my neighbor’s truck, boat, propane-tank and tractor was visible. No problemo.
IMG_0453x1000IMG_0439x1000
The butterfly bush got stumped, maybe we’ll need to grind it or I’ll need a chainsaw to really get at it.
IMG_0452x1000
At least now the major hurdles have been overcome and I can get in there on my time to do more.
IMG_0454x1000

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

16 thoughts on “The Embankment

  1. As a restorer of old buildings I hate butterfly bushes,self seeding in gutters and parapets they can rapidly destroy even the most solid of stonework….pretty though!

    • Sorry bout that but they get into the most unlikely of places.The roots follow the past of least resistance (mortar) and do great damage.On the plus side they do smell great on a warm day (yes we have had one of them once) and obviously butterflys love em! By coincidence I have just put in a few hundred box plants and hopefuly one day a little topiary expertise will be needed.

    • I will be persistent when I dig them out, but maybe leave the stump for the fat and jolly woodpecker. I’m not real keen on fragrant plants, the pines and woods up here have enough going. At my parents house there has always been boxwood hedges, cut nice and square.

    • Thanks for the well wishes. Have had 9 heart surgeries, last 2 didn’t do any good. That’s why I’m living outside Reno instead of still working in Hawaii. Good news is it means I can attend GBR’s, as long as they’re held near here.

      Not a new condition, been dealing with it for over a decade now. Doctor joked one time that it’s fatal, but not serious. Like watching a glacier advancing toward your cabin, you know someday there’s going to be trouble. . . . .

      I tell people to learn from my mistakes, and be a lot more more careful about the selection of their parents. Wish I’d taken my own advice.

      But ya gotta look on the bright side. Most everybody has to guess what is going to kill them. I’m pretty certain I already know. 😉

      Also, thanks Brighid. If anyone is interested, contact info is in the add. Appreciated!

    • Ok then, I chose my parents pretty well I guess. With the up-tick in Hadjis lately there are a number of new life-time “interventions” made possible, so keep your powder dry and see you in September!

  2. It has been an amazingly wet first week of March, but at least the Truckee is flowing like a river again. Nice to see.

    The lake in my backyard? Not so nice to see.

    • With the weather like it is today I’m just glad it got done in a “dry-window.” Seven days into March and we already have 4.90 inches of rain!

Comments are closed.