Tactical Tomorrowland

Up here in the country there’s a lot of Mossy Oak® folks and Real Tree® denizens who blend right in to the local scenery during hunting season. My graphics-guy preference is for Mossy Oak®, just because of the outright verisimilitude factor of our lower-upland, Western Slope foliage landscape — but MultiCam seems to work OK and ATACS looks interesting. Black is very Urban (as opposed to suburban) and not locally appropriate except at night, but to even say “Urban” nowadays is a Progressive racist dog-whistle microaggression thing – and also how they get-away with even using “dog-whistle” un-ironically is beyond me because that has all kinds of cultural appropriation and racism written all over it and Irony was once the hallmark of what passes for (and passive-aggressive for) Progressive Ideology. But I digress.Plate Carrier Coyote Chest Rig Molle
So….with the impending BOHICA arrival of many new Muslim-Immigrant “Refugees,” comes the need for some preparation in terms of Tactical Couture – never let a crisis go to waste after-all – and I’m concerned with a sort of chicken-and-egg situation. Do you get a “slick” plate carrier and wear the chest rig over it or just go with the chest rig and a full load-out, or get a dual-duty kinda thing? The guys at Wilde Custom Gear Tactical Nylon Store make 10-round mag-pouches for the California market and for that I’m grateful – and also various rigs.
As many know the current Progressive-Elite dominated CA Gov. has seen fit to hog-tie us locals with all sorts of glorious restrictions on personal protection, but there’s still many opportunities for work-arounds and not all the Counties are so restrictive with CCW etc.
With the US Palm “Defender” level it’s just pistol-armor, not a (rifle) plate carrier, but it has the Molle all over and the grab-handle on the back so someone can pull you out of the fire. Except they don’t make 10-round magazine pouches. However 10-rounders from Wild Custom could be attached, and so could a Molle holster for the Sig. But the SAP-C plate carrier (left) looks positively luxurious.
USPALM_SAP-C_MultiCam_Defender
UPDATE: What are you doing to harden your structure? I’m thinking of getting a horse so I don’t need a tunnel.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

19 thoughts on “Tactical Tomorrowland

  1. Don’t forget eye protection. It is arguably the most important of all, given the vulnerability to everything from smoke to shrapnel….

  2. Mad Max didn’t have a plate carrier – just sayin’.

    I’m not as far from being all tactically prepared as you can get, but I have a ways to go on that score, so I dunno about whether and what type of armor to wear. I think it’s a crap shoot, as in, the time you walk out to your mailbox without a gat strapped to your leg, will be the time you wish you had it. As in the argument that if you’re going to CCW, damn well just do it all the time.

    Why am I reminded of this? (No, I don’t look like that.)

    So far, the best stuff I’ve read on the topic has been at Max Velocity. I judge it best not because of any expertise on my part, but because as far as I can tell, he’s the real deal. Go back through the archives and read what he has to say about getting your battle rattle on.

    Don’t get me started on camouflage. My plan is to confuse everyone by wearing 3 different types!

    • This topic has been on my mind for some time. The only hands-on experience I have is from my time in the military and my own since purchased Vietnam era LBE. I’ve poked around on the web some, but just haven’t had the chance to try out any of the current stuff.

      At my age and (lack of) physical conditioning, there won’t be much “runnin’ and gunnin'”, more like “sneakin’ and peakin'”. Absent a biblical flood, I intend to survive in place and let the chips fall. I would rather play with a home court advantage than be isolated in unfamiliar territory. My intent is to keep my load out as light weight and simple as possible. Some random thoughts—

      Chest rigs are out. Don’t intend to carry that much weight/ammo. Can’t see one working well in a sitting or prone position, or for that matter, landing prone on top of your mags.

      I hate velcro. You would be amazed at how far away you can hear it on a quiet night.

      I’m down with the ground-up approach, being able to put what I want where I want. Maybe start with something like this—

      http://www.amazon.com/Military-MOLLE-Vest-Woodland-Camo/dp/B00BD7MUC0/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top?ie=UTF8

      For my Captain Obvious moment—GPS may not be available. Get a paper map (quick, what is the magnetic declination for your current location?). Get something like this and learn it—

      http://www.midwayusa.com/Product/719330/us-army-map-reading-and-land-navigation-handbook-military-manual-by-department-of-the-army

    • I’m pretty good with maps. 🙂 As Clint Smith at Gunsite said, “It’s hard to learn new skills in the middle of a gun fight.” If things really go to shit I’m pretty sure all the neighbors are going to have a meet-up at the Saloon and talk strategies and areas of responsibility, and firepower.

  3. I’ve given up on hardening my structure as non-cost-effective. Too much square footage to cover with sandbags, AR500 plating and ballistic curtain. That’s what the shed is for.

    I figure probably a $20,000 savings from uparmoring the shed into a separate safe bunker rather than trying to do the same to the house.

    The shed will have a 6 foot sub-basement, with firing ports that look like foundation vents. The real expense is from the remote turrett on the rooftop armed with AI-driven rapid firing paint guns to automatically mark potential enemies with high-viz paint, to defeat their concealment schemes. It will also serve as an accuracy improvement system, as the defenders will only have to target the paint splotches to insure adequate incapacitation.

    The Halon fire extinguishing systems were picked up surplus, so there is good economy there. The anti-EMP shielding should provide adequate protection for the non electric illumination system of hurricane lanterns, which will be burning bacon fat for an additional aromatherapy defensive layer against islamist intruders.

    Do you think I missed any critical vulnerabilities?

    • I have two tourniquets and Dave has two tourniquets. Dave is 9.3 miles away with his wife. At 3:30AM on a dark country road in a Chevy Silverado at 70MPH, how long before Dave needs both of his tourniquets?

  4. Unless you’re getting shot at all the time, you will quickly come to hate plates. They’re heavy, inflexible and rub all kind of wrong. Then, even if you do opt for plates (front and back, I’m assuming), you’re still vulnerable in the sides, head, up- or down-angled shots, groin, etc.
    There’s no magic answer. It’s a coin toss, no matter how far you go down the body-armor path

    • Yeh but do you look cool? I appreciate you have probably experienced this before. I think maybe the less intrusive pistol-level armor in the “Defender” series is more in my line. I’m thinking between “running around in the woods plate-carrier” (because I can do that in my Mossy Oak underwear) than, “HOLY EFFING SHIT, Quick got this shit on NOW!”
      Calculus re. Religion of Peace Animosity: Random Muzzy on the street = knife vs. Random Home-Invasion Dudes = pistol vs. Muzzy-GANG on Street-Rampage = AK’s vs. Muzzy-Bomber = head-shot. The Zombie Apocalypse is only preparation for Islamic Rule.
      Dress accordingly, and carry a tourniquet. Remember, for Christmas nuthin’ says “Lovin’ You Babe” like snuggly body-armor.

    • Second Chance used to have concealment soft armor that looked about as heavy as an insulated undershirt. I’m not seeing that on their site, now. Saw Richard Davis, the founder, shoot himself a couple times with a .44 magnum back in ’94, at a Three Gun Match. That was an impressive demonstration!

      IIRC, the sale price at that match was $700. Retail was over $900, I think.

Comments are closed.