Fireplaces

IMG_0219x1000
IMG_0220x1000
IMG_0222x1000
UPDATE: I’m gonna need a double-wall bucket for hot ashes, and a scooper, and does anybody make a teeny-tiny log-splitter? I keep smashing my finger(s) and raising blood-blisters… Grandpa’s old “boys axe” is needin’ a new handle. They had a real nice STIHL one at the TruValue store…but I bought a Fiskars splitting-axe for all the pine 2×4 remnants lying around, but it’s not good on the 20″ Oak rounds stacked-up.
Maybe I’ll go up the the hardware store and see what they got, it’s the oldest continuously operating hardware store west of the Mississippi and the second-oldest business in the State of California.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

4 thoughts on “Fireplaces

  1. If you are looking for a small kindling type of splitting maul, the Mexican produced (I think) Collins 3 lbs. unit may do the job, and is pretty cost effective. Truper makes a very similar unit.

    If your budget or sensibilities toward good tools trends up the scale, Wetterlings of Sweden makes a spectacularly good splitting hatchet, listed in their catalog as #142. I might be able to source this one for you (I have a fourth-generation Mom & Pop hardware store a couple blocks from the office that has these), if desired, but it’s about a C-note, if I recall.

    Then there is Estwing’s 4 lbs, unitized steel club. It’s a one-piece forging, called the “Fireside Friend” and even though the steel has zero heat treatment in my experience, splitting usually doesn’t require a great edge, and you’re not likely to break this thing. It’s also designed to pound wedges, should you need to get more aggressive with your splitting of rounds.

    As for me, I’ve found that the typical oak and ash that I split needs the 8 lbs Council Tools Maul-O-Death administered with authority, but that’s just my experience with my local wood.

    Good luck.

    • OMG the Wetterlings hatchet (and the whole catalog) is a think of beauty! Grr! The Stihl axe was also about that cost, but I am leery of swinging something heavy and out-of-control where the weight point could shift (bounce) over right into where my foot or leg is… Tourniquet time!
      This gives me further impetus to push for re-building the shed (it’s plastic anyhow), and replace it with a Tough-Shed or similar, and running electricity for a trickle-charger, and other purposes – like a 5-ton electric splitter. But the oak rounds are less than 22-inches diameter and less than 20″ long, so it’s not a big production thing and even a small $200 hydraulic job would be infinitely easier (and safer than me swinging an uncontrolled medical emergency-event).

Comments are closed.