I don’t do GPS rant

Mainly, why bother, and it CAN makes you stupid. GPS tells you nothing, it’s just a vertical satellite feedback loop. My inner Boy Scout want’s to projectile vomit when I see people using GPS in their cars, and I won’t buy a vehicle with On-Star. You got a whole beautiful, expansive dashboard that could be covered in crocodile or exotic leather, and some Management techno-weenie brand-marketeer cuts a hole in it and stuffs in a goddam TV and bullshit??
Since I like to read I’m skilled with reading maps. I know a few stars for nighttime location work. But mainly I pay attention to where I’m going, and through what kinds of neighborhoods I am traveling (Danger Will Robinson! Remember: Location-Location-Location? Would you buy a house here?), and so I know how I got where I was going.
Maybe it’s a guy-thing and I don’t do “directions” very well anyhow. I don’t want, need, or especially like “directions” – not when I can map my own way there. I know (already) where I am, and anybody with some minor sensibility to direction, awareness of time of day, recognition of shadows, with a paltry memory for layout, and who uses their EYES to SEE their actual surroundings will only be BLINDED by GPS. It’s a fools errand.
The last time we had a “direction-location problem” and I went into a gas-station for answers/directions, the guy was from Bangalore and didn’t know the area at all himself. At least he spoke English. So I went around the corner to a guy who you KNOW knows the area and knows directions — a Realtor.
We have a friend who’s been here easily fifteen years, and can’t get around without GPS. It’s more than a crutch. It IS because they know nothing (external awareness-wise) and see nothing (external awareness-wise) because they are uninterested in anything but themselves (external awareness-wise). Their self-centric worldview plots them at the world-center to begin with, and GPS firmly plants them there – so all their attendant self-centric biases doesn’t let them leave. They are ALWAYS late (never their fault), never remember how they got anyplace (not their job), don’t know how to leave (go where??), and basically can’t locate themselves in physical space. That is unnecessary and secondary compared to catering to their tastes and needs. It’s like math, “is too hard.” So they don’t bother, and they don’t really know where they are when they get there at any point in space-time. And as far as past-tense goes they don’t know where WHERE was, or where it will be when they get THERE. They’re just (unhappily) HERE-THERE at any moment – and/but not in a Zen kinda “be-here-know” spacey way – they simply are as they came into the World: brain-naked and clueless like an infant.
Politically they also closely approach the same awareness-set of VOID. Sadly they vote, and as among the most low-information types possible, they vote for their perceived MAIN bias: what makes them FEEL good…

UPDATE: I know I made a bunch of blanket statements which is why I prefaced this as a rant. But this also came out of a discussion with a friend who was up here visiting – and he complained that relying on the GPS constantly was making HIM stupid. And it was the constant-use thing that triggered my rant. That started the discussion with my buddy and his wife, and it reminded me of some other friends from where we used-to live who exhibited the same behaviors, so in essence there was more than one person involved, and I didn’t reveal that in my rant and I should have set the parameters that way.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

11 thoughts on “I don’t do GPS rant

  1. I’m seldom around an interactive GPS, (I’ve got an original type that just shows you where you are, returned after about 8 years), but saw a very neat feature for the first time. It appears that the software/system can now determine how many mobile GPS receivers are on the road ahead of you, and how fast they are moving. That gave us a real clear indicator that we did NOT want to continue on that freeway, and we bailed. (Nighttime on 880 in Oakland)

    If I was still answering calls for the SO in a towtruck, it would be near mandatory. Running out to the truck at 0’dark-thirty, and then trying to find the address on a map book was time consuming, while the clock is ticking. Wouldn’t be 100% accurate, of course. But then, neither were the maps.

  2. A GPS doesn’t make anyone stupid anymore than a gun makes someone evil.

    That person may have been stupid to begin with… or just lazy.

    And yes I have maps. And the last time I wanted my GPS – before a trip to a part of the country I was unfamiliar with – I couldn’t find it.

    Here’s a test. Go drive around Cincinnati with just written directions. The streets change names for no apparent reason. Or the street you thought you were just made a 90 degree turn to the right. For no apparent reason. The pavement you are driving on continued in a straight line, but that doesn’t matter, it is now a different street. Oh, and I think there is a law against anything running in a straight line for more than half a mile.

    There is a place filled with restaurants and nightlife – Mount Adams. When I first moved to Cincinnati, I lived there for 3 years before I could find my way to Mt Adams on the first try without getting lost. I wish I had a GPS back then.

    Doubling down on a statement like GPS=Stupid, is exactly what the Left does with guns. Namely – attribute too much power to an inanimate object.

    And I would venture to guess that when you do travel to strange and novel places you are either A) not driving but navigating, or B) have someone in the passenger’s seat reading the map for you. Those of us who live alone don’t always have some live person to read the map. Hence the GPS.

    • Ok I agree, and the blanket statement needs a qualifier, “GPS CAN make you stupid,” – like any developed dependency. And I don’t feel happy with the conjectural comparison to the Left and it’s talking-methods, that makes me sad, but you’re right about that attributing too much power to an inanimate object. I also don’t like they way they anthropomorphize and attribute human qualities to members of the animal kingdom.
      I don’t even have a GPS so maybe I’m really not qualified to say anything about it, but it was my buddy who complained that it was making HIM stupid, and that triggered the rant – and he should write his own blog post about that experience. But seeing a smart person get into their car and instantly dumb-down is kinda a bummer. My smartest friend (PhD in physics and a business CEO/CFO), relying on GPS instead of acquired local knowledge (of which he had plenty), drove out onto a freeway construction zone, past the cones and into the dirt, and had to call the CA Highway Patrol to extricate him.
      Thank-you for providing an excellent example of bizzaro city-planning, I seriously thought the Mid-West was more driven by sober-minded rationality but I guess they can be as strange and novel as here in California! The last time I was close to Cincinatti I was driving-by Columbus or through Cleveland – and it was in mid 1982, so I don’t get out East much.
      My wife simply refuses to read a map and navigate for me when I’m driving, and if she’s driving and I attempt to give her navigation instructions she tells me to shut-up because the noise coming out of my pie hole is irritating. But that’s another story.

  3. I have, a few times, used the GPS in my phone for the “crap, I’m off course how did that happen” situations. Took the wrong freeway exit, or something. If I’m going someplace I’m not familiar with, you bet I look at a map beforehand, and plan my route.

    Did Vasco de Gamma need a GPS?

    I isn’t just GPS. I could do fractional arithmetic in my head better in 3rd grade than I can now. Too much time spent punching results up using a calculator.

  4. Thought about this all day….

    “I know one idiot who uses a GPS, so everyone who uses a GPS must be an idiot and I have no intention of being an idiot. So there” In effect.

    Contrast with…

    “The (fill-in-the-blank on the incident)-shooter owned a gun and was/is a monster so everyone who owns a gun must be a monster and I don’t intend to be a monster. So there”

    In essence, this what the Left spews every time someone with poor judgement or evil intent opens fire in a public place. Not much difference between the 2 positions.

    “A GPS makes you stupid” versus “A gun makes you evil.”

    • I know I made a bunch of blanket statements which is why I prefaced this as a rant. But this also came out of a discussion with a friend who was up here visiting – and he complained that relying on the GPS constantly was making HIM stupid. And it was the constant-use thing that triggered my rant. That started the discussion with my buddy and his wife, and it reminded me of some other friends from where we used-to live who exhibited the same behaviors, so in essence there was more than one person involved, and I didn’t reveal that in my rant and I should have set the parameters that way. So I’ll update my post to reflect that. But there is a big difference between stupid and evil.

  5. I carry real maps… 🙂 And USE THEM! Luckily, I have a pretty good memory ‘bump’ for locations and direction. A couple of times and I can usually find my way back without a problem (unless it’s Japan, then all bets are off)…

  6. About five years ago I was talking to some 20-something co-workers (I was about 30 years older) and they were complaining about their GPS steering them wrong. I suggested they use maps, and they looked at me like I had two heads and immediately started calling me Grandpa.
    My wife can actually read a map (I say this so I won’t be accused of stereotyping), and I used to draw her maps to places she had to go and wasn’t sure about. She recently started using an audio GPS and now I’m out of the map business. She says that following audio directions is safer for her than consulting a map while driving. She doesn’t have to scan for street signs and can keep her eyes on the road while the robot lady says, “In a quarter-mile, turn left.”
    I still like my maps, but I’ll go for anything that makes my wife safer.

  7. I grew up reading maps, and learned a whole lot more about navigation in general when I took ground school for my pilot’s license.

    I’ll use the GPS in my car to get a very general idea of the route to take, but I’d much rather use a paper map, plan it out ahead of time, and make notes.

    One thing I find astounding is how many people can’t find North, or East, or West, or South.

    Depending on the time of day, that should be a no brainer!

    • I can see using GPS while exploring in the backcountry on a trail-ride where maps can be “divergent” and inconvenient to unfold, but as a constant around-town or city-dependency it’s dangerous and makes you stupid. There are places to avoid, and just because you can drive down that street and through that neighborhood doesn’t mean you should.

Comments are closed.