Directionless Travel

Back in the late 70’s when I was tramping around and wasn’t sure which road to take, where to go next, or even when to move-on, I would often pull out a small pouch with three Chinese coins from a shop in Chinatown, and consult the I-Ching. Fat lot of good it ever did, but it was a kind of time-out to acknowledge I had no clue. I didn’t pray to God for directional guidance, I prayed to Him for protection and perspicacity. The two things He couldn’t necessarily give to an idiot, a fool, and a knave I asked for – and the one thing that might work, I didn’t. I think I eventually got it but I wish I had prayed for Math skills and an ability to easily understand numbers…
I had messed-around with Tarot and other systems of divination including Color and Personality cards since Jr. High (probably weighted with significance because it had an unmlaut) – and you must include the dreaded and thoroughly bogus High School Career Guidance-Center Test among such methods of divination.
Later with enough knowledge and experience about how such ephemera workd, I probably could have set-up shop letting people tell their own stories back to themselves. As it was I eschewed a University path in “Psychology” mainly because I wanted to see how Society and Civilization actually worked and functioned, not how we wished it did. Apart from the Madame Zelda’s of the world who hustle poor shlubs for big sums of money, the method is mainly an internal reflection pool that draws up it’s own signatories from a person’s own internal daemons – and I kinda hustled myself. But there was a lot of that going around in the 70’s, really a lot.
At least I didn’t get into crystals and interplanetary nutzoid stuff, and my experience enabled me to avoid the Ashram-path to perpetual poverty and a pauper’s indulgences, or the amplified brainy aspect of Heaven’s Gate Scientism. Young people shouldn’t seek-out this pseudo omniscient “wisdom” crap but in a world of extreme competition with pressure for success, pressure for companionship, and pressure for acceptance, it appears as shortcut to at least some kind of Status and Achievement — and it’s been around ever since some idiot ate a green bug or a bad piece of barley and saw lights in his head – and didn’t die from it.
Somehow it didn’t kill me either.
UPDATE: It also REALLY didn’t help much either — not in companionship or achievement, and it leads to a lot of blind alleys worse than any DOS D&D game, black as night and fewer clues. I wish I had done something different or had some skills that provided work and a bit of money, but I was unemployable and couldn’t even get a job in the relative comfort of Retail, so I did manual labor.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

8 thoughts on “Directionless Travel

  1. All that navel-gazing, introspective self-actualization frippery was at least good for scoring some hippie-chick ‘tang, wasn’t it?

    Here babe, let me do a reading for you. LOL

    Jim
    Sunk New Dawn
    Galveston, TX

    • Yeh, FINALLY! I really wish my academic-driven parents would have said that a little more directly instead of letting me waste so much time and MONEY that I didn’t have “finding myself” – a whole ‘nother economic lesson and story missed – because in the end I found squat, except that the “academic life” that supports such nonsense was a complete waste for both of us, and utterly useless – and ultimately was just another key in my career-fail. Sorry Dad.

  2. Freudian slip alert. Your last paragraph says “hemp” where I believe you meant to say “help.”

    • Fixed it. I was going to write a paragraph about my Sister’s kid who went-off misdirected on the Shaman Path, now he’s a gardener in Boulder Creek with a degree in “Gardenology” or whatever from Cabrillo College.

  3. “…you must include the dreaded and thoroughly bogus High School Career Guidance-Center Test among such methods of divination.”

    Excuse the language, but no shit!

    It all pointed me toward one thing…wait for it…you guessed right, and I seemed to not only take the bait but did so willingly.

    If I could smack that kid, knowing what I know now, circa 1987, I’d do it good and hard until he got the point.

    Direction. Yeah, I’m getting there, if a bit late.

    • We often take the bait too easily in order to please or to seem like we’re “smart” and in accordance. I was told I should be a barber. In fact I did make some side-money cutting hair in college, or a 6-pack.

Comments are closed.