And then…

…the tiny Mossberg safety detent ball-bearing ball rolled off the receiver into space, made a small *ping* sound as it hit the plastic carpet-protector mat, and disappeared into Carpetland… Oh great.

To continue: The Brown Truck of Happiness had arrived and delivered my tacticool Vang-Comp oversize safety button, solid metal instead of plastic – so I set to work examining how this thing comes apart and goes back. I examined for about twenty seconds and then unscrewed the one-way safety top-screw.
And the bottom fell out and rattled around inside the action.
mossberg_500b
But the tiny spring and the microscopic ball-detent were still with me in Happy-Land. So then I had to remove the trigger group by pusing-out out the trigger-housing retaining pin, and two more pieces fell out. Those would be #11 and #12, the cartridge stop and cartridge interrupter. And also the safety block fell free which is what I needed in the first place. So OK, hitch up the big-boy pants and re-assemble – which is when the tiny ball-bearing took flight.

After tearing out my remaining and non-existent hair, and crawling fruitlessly under the desk with a Surefire light that got too hot to hold, I started searching through the Wise Men of Internet for a Clue and the ball-diameter.

I came across an amazing and hyper-logical suggestion: Magnet+Vacuum. I went out to the garage and got the Craftsman magnetized parts-tray that I SHOULD HAVE BEEN USING IN THE FIRST PLACE, and from the bedroom retrieved the small Dyson bagless mini-vac and started combing the carpet. After a few turns over one area I emptied the canister into the tray. Nothing. So I began a sweep of the next vector and hammered at the carpet some more. EUREKA!

So, re-assembly began again with much more caution (and a magnetized backstop), and it would have been great the first f*ing time but I had the Tacticool Button facing the wrong direction – so just for good measure and practice I did it again. OK, phew, finally. QUIT WHILE YOU’RE AHEAD.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

7 thoughts on “And then…

  1. My Daddy always said, “Experience is what allows you to recognize a mistake when you make it again.”

  2. Disassembling the M-14 bolts I learned quickly to put it inside a Ziplock bag before pressing on the detent pin. When the springs inevitably pop, they stay in the bag.

    • There’s more to the story! But the assembly isn’t small enough to fit into a plastic bag unless you have the barrel and stock off…and in re-assembly there’s a whole three-handed trick with the pinky-finger too!

Comments are closed.