The Battery

As a firearms aficionado I was lucky to (be working and have enough money) and first acquire The Complete Basic-Battery: Pistol, Rifle, Shotgun. So there I was with my gats: a Smith’ Model-10, a 1900’s-era Krag-Jorgenson (in an un-useable very 60’s Monte Carlo stock, but not cut-down), and a ’54 Belgian Browning Light-Twelve that was once my Grandfather’s. What a beauty. With gold wash still on the trigger and an un-blemished receiver, it was made a few years before my birth and it is a Revered Family Heirloom (even for those non-gunny types), and I’m just the most recent caretaker.

How did you start out? What’s your basic-basic?

Since that time I have filled out my Basic Battery at various locations and with assorted permutations; Colt and Sig added to S&W, M1 Garand and M1 Carbine (Postal Meter now sold, dammit) added to Krag-Jorgenson – but a profound vacancy remained.
I was afraid to ruin Grandpa’s old beauty, and nobody on my old Shootin’ Club even fired shotguns so I got no encouragement there. But I had shot Chris AnarchAngel Byrne’s DiFi Hater-Gun – the Dianne Feinstein Memorial Assault Shotgun, the Shotty from Hell with the rotary magazine, and it was FUN! But if anyone ever said, “Let’s go play 3-Gun!” I would have come up short, my Battery was vacant at that location.
So today I went up to Hangtown, to Big-5 and slapped plastic down on a Mossberg 590. Besides, I got the Mossberg hat at the Gunblogger Rendezvous when Remington didn’t give squat. It’s not a wrist-cracking “cruiser” nor does it have a gigantic drum magazine, but it does have something AWFUL, a bayonet lug. So for a hundred bucks or so I can get an Ontario M9 that makes it pokey-slicey and adds to my bayonet collection.
Maybe they need to open up “3-Gun” and make it slashy: “3-Gun and BAAYONET!”

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

13 thoughts on “The Battery

  1. .410 Stevens single that Pop traded for when I was maybe 9. It hasn’t been shot in decades but was probably not used heavily before I got it. Best I can tell it was made in the Great War era. Locks up rather authoritatively to this day. It’s almost worthless, as far as monetary value goes.

    Several years later it was a Marlin 60.

    I inherited a 16ga from my GGF after his passing and it looked like he’d thrown it in behind the seat of a pickup and forgotten about it for 60 years, except he never owned a pickup, so who knows the story. I restored that one when I was about nineteen or twenty. I’ve never had the courage to actually fire it.

    Didn’t get into pistols and black rifles until several years after that, after college, when I actually had some disposable income.

    • The .410 is a considerable authoritative bore when loaded with a slug – whammo! I think you should examine the 16ga you restored and see if it’s fit to shoot- because 16’s are supposed to be the sweetest.
      Pistols are more personal. You need a nice one, and you need one you can be, “less worried about.” I bought the first Sig so I could shoot it and have it taken away if it had to, as compared to the ’43 1911A1 – then I bought another Sig because I liked them.

  2. Not counting all of my father’s guns that I “borrowed”, the first gun that was truly mine was a Stevens .410 side-by-side shotgun given to me by him when I was 10, which I still have. At least once a year it sees some use at the clays range. The first shotgun I bought for myself was a Remington 870 in 12ga, which also is still in my safe.

    My father never owned any handguns, not because he was against them, but rather because they just didn’t interest him. So upon turning 21, the first thing on my list was to buy one. As soon as class ended that day, my first stop was McBride’s where I bought a used Beretta M9. Wish that I still had it, but before moving overseas a few years later, it found a new home.

    The first rifle in my possession was a Remington Model 700 in .30-06. Many rifles have come and gone through my collection, but this one too is still in my service. Just this past week, it accompanied me on an, unsuccessful, elk hunt. None of these are flashy and none came with any family or historical significance, but you have to start somewhere.

    If only allowed to keep one of my current guns in each category, my choice would include the Beretta 687 in 12ga, Blaser K95 in .30-06, and S&W 686P 6″. Not going so far as to call it a “holy grail” gun, my dream gun is a Heym PH SxS in .470 NE.

    Someday…

    • I think that you, hunting with the rifle are building and providing the significance! 🙂 My dad never owned any guns because he believed that is how his own father took his life – turns out it wasn’t.

  3. Of all my guns, these are the ones that originally constituted my battery. I consider them all to be pretty much classic firearms (proving, I suppose, that the older you get, the more of your stuff can be considered “classic”). And even though I have more modern and “better” ones, these are also the guns I’d be most likely keep if I could only keep a few.

    I grew up using my choice of my Dad’s guns, so the first two guns of very my own were purchased at about the same time from the BX at the USAF AFS where I was stationed in Alaska. They are what I consider two classic S&W revolvers…a Model 19 with four-inch barrel and a Model 36 with two-inch barrel. I still have both, and although they’ve been carried a lot and fired a good bit, both are in excellent condition. If I’m permitted to include a pistol in my original battery, it would be the first one I bought a couple of years after returning to civilian life (and which served as my car gun for years)…a S&W Model 39, also purchased new; also still in my possession; and also in excellent condition. (Actually, as I suspect about a good number of you, I still have every firearm I’ve ever acquired.)

    Two rifles I’d keep were also purchased a few years after leaving the service…a Ruger 10/22 that has taken squirrels, and a Marlin 336 in .30-30 that has taken deer. Shotgun-wise, the gold-triggered 20 gauge Auto-5 that originally belonged to my uncle, and which I then inherited from my Dad, could not, of course, be given up under any circumstances short of my own death. For more workaday shotgun-related purposes, there’s always my Remington 870 Express Synthetic in 12 gauge.

    I suppose all of those would fit most people’s definition of at least classic-ish.

  4. The 1st gun I bought for myself was a Ruger P-85. Still have it. After that, various bolties, semi-autos, and shotties. Not a huge collection though, by any means, but enough to induce PSH in the lefties, for sure. But I wouldn’t call even my AR “tacticool” — it’s a flat-top with a carry-handle and plastic handguards, so no big rail sections there to hang stuff on it. AR #2 will be a different story, but it ain’t finished. And then I’ll tweak AR #1 a bit.

    I should accessorize the 870 some — extended tube and a sidesaddle shell holder.

    And, in lieu of commenting at Borepatch’s place (because I can’t), I’ll mention my grail gun, if such a thing existed (and why doesn’t it?) would be a 12-ga Gatling.

    However, the big hole in my “battery” is that the only revolver I own is a reproduction 1860 Army. I should remedy that. I know where there’s a Dan Wesson pistol pack that I should be able to own, so maybe that should be my “grail” of the moment. But a S&W 686 would do nicely, or perhaps the blued 4″ version of that line, if there is one. I dunno, I’m really not a revolver guy, and a Korth is just way out of reach.

    • 12-ga Gatling! A S&W 686 sounds fair, now that we live in the Country (flyover, even!) a SAA thumbuster also sounds reasonable!
      But to my mind all guns that involve a search and selective process are grail-guns, it doesn’t need to cost a mint, it needs to have significance.

    • Well, there’s 1 particular Dan Wesson pistol pack that does have significance — it was owned by a dear departed friend of mine.

      As to the 12-ga. Gatling, my motto is, “Nothing exceeds like excess!”

    • Well, offhand, it’s hard to think of something more awkward than bringing up that no-quite unspoken inheritance question, for various reasons. And then there’s Colorado’s new transfer law as well. Should’ve been done 13 years ago.

    • Do I look like I’m made of money? 😉 It’s a 9-shot 20-inch 590 – I think I can replace the plastic trigger housing/safety with metal. Mainly it has the bayonet lug! And I’m a bayonet collector! 🙂

Comments are closed.