Wheels

Gonna see a man about a horse tomorrow… Like the one we rode in Germany-Austria-Switzerland-Italy-Austria-Germany back in ’98. Exactly like it. Except for a few extra cc’s.
Oops, can’t leave out Lichtenstein!
UPDATE: Back to the Future!
Edelweiss called and they want their 1998 BMW back… 

1998 High Alpine Adventure

That was the R850R back then, just 6k+ on the clock…


Back to the Future

This is now a 1998 R1100R with just 6k+ on the clock…


Back To The Future 1998 R1100R

Hard to believe nobody wanted this old jewel. Perhaps it’s the age, perhaps it’s the obsolescence, perhaps it’s just too boring, perhaps it was priced too high – but it’s less than half one third of the original cost from sixteen years ago – and it’s all that I wanted: no damn GPS, no damn hypervelocity, no built-in iPad, no expensive swoopy plastic to bash or remove whenever a bit of work is required, no dings-dents-or-scratches – just great weight-to-torque ratio, easy to work on, luggage for two-up riding, heated grips, extra smidge of power that the R850R lacked, and the less-complicated less prone to error ABS that later models didn’t enjoy… Can’t wait for summer in the CA Alps.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

24 thoughts on “Wheels

  1. Welcome to the club. I love my 2008 R1200R… Or is it a 2007… ehh I love riding it and it has plenty of snot when you roll on the throttle…

    I do say I like the ABS..

    • I was in the hot pit at Sears Point, ’98, trying to figure out how to launch my Ducati, after a number of changes to the bike. There was a rider there that had everyone’s attention. He would come charging toward the end of the lane, braking hard, daylight under the rear tire, and lift the back end up quite high as the speed got slow. He would hold it up while making a tight turn around the end traffic cone, set the rear down, and charge off toward the other end to repeat the maneuver. He did it often enough to make it clear it wasn’t a fluke. An exhibition of very good brake control!

    • Our friend up here The Arborist (husband to The Beautiful Realtor) used to do moto-stunt riding (high-speed wheelies/stoppies, etc) as an exhibition between race events – until he had the “21-broken bones” hospital-escapade… I think he still rides offroad, I’ll have to ask at dinner tomorrow. I’m no good at that stuff, my inner-ear always has me shut it down first.

    • I had a very short association with them.
      Around the end of the year, IIRC, there was a thread on a subject I knew. I posted a couple comments. I was very clear at the start that I had been a dealer mechanic on the model when they were still being made. A long time commenter immediately went to bad-mouthing me on the subject. Since no one objected, I made the logical conclusion that the forum was a bully-board. I don’t need to waste my time, if my efforts to keep some of the old knowledge available is not appreciated. I politely told him that, and left.

    • A lot of guys went from RMD (Usenet) to ADV (web), but I found the whole thing much more time consuming, with a lot of moto-selfies. Nothimg wrong with that but it’s as hard to navigate as CalGuns – the nature of online forums.

  2. I started on naked bikes (Norton), and scoffed at riders who used fairings, bags, heated anything, etc. My first handlebar mounted fairing was a revelation, ditto the first frame mount. Heated vest, then gloves and chaps.
    A first year R100RS was neat, although 11 years old. Best full fairing you could get. Saw that RS fairing mounted on other brands, and sizes, of bikes. Wasn’t much impressed with the bike itself, though. Carbs were junk, brakes not much better, handling marginal. Only BMW I ever had. Worked at a dealer when they were new (Cycle Sports, Santa Clara). Still chuckle at the literal translation for their fenders: horseshit deflector.

    Hmm, well, I was comparing the handling to my Guzzis and Nortons, and my sister’s RD350, so maybe not quite fair!

    • I break plastic! Also it’s a bit lighter weight without all the fairing stuff. For a fat bike it’s pretty flickable, and this has the “good” ABS that was less error prone. Really a fair-weather ride for mountain sight-seeing, my Wife has a low tolerance/threshold for pain, and I need to get the bolt-on passenger backrest too. 🙂

  3. Now that is sweet! Among you, Borepatch, and one of my amateur radio buddies, I’m getting a serious jones to get a bike. Too bad I don’t have the serious bucks to do so. Oh, well, maybe that’s a good thing?

    • Hi Jed, if you think guns are an expensive hobby! But it IS a lot of fun having your own portable roller-coaster, as long you can scale back your ambitions to fit your skill level and ride within that envelope! There are a lot of local classes everywhere (Motorcycle Safety Foundation) that teach the things you need to know, because much of it is really NOT intuitive and must be practiced and learned. And then there’s the whole world of dangerous, unobservant texting car-drivers.
      IMO the best way to start is in the dirt where there is little traction to begin with, so that you really learn about traction (and using the clutch to control momentum): finding it, using it, what to do when its not there. Also speeds off-road are lower, and usually with no oncoming traffic (trucks, ditzy ladies, busy-stressed salary men), so when you fall and/or drop the bike it’s no big deal – a dirtbike’s natural resting position is lying down! 🙂 And MUD is fun! But not when you’re on a streetbike, then it’s like ice, and scary.

    • Love the dirt… Sure speeds are lower but there are sooooo many ways to drop your bike / crash your bike on the dirt. I think I threw my KTM on the ground in just about every state on my Trans America Trail adventure last year, except for maybe Oklahoma and New Mexico (only 70 miles in New Mexico so my opportunities were much less).

    • Oh, I have my MSF course and M endorsement. Had a Nighthawk 750. I’ll skip the story about my 1st, and only, crash. That was back in the late 90’s. Wasn’t serious. I will say that the MSF course didn’t prepare me for the gravel at the apex. And Kenny Roberts, I ain’t. 🙂

      Yeah, if I were to start over, I’d look at getting some time in learning to deal with less-than-ideal traction in an environment other than asphalt. Back when I was a kid, I wanted a Bultaco Alpina, but Santa never brought me one. Wouldn’t it be a kick to restore one of those?

    • Ah so you know!! Restoring old bikes is a real passion-thing, Bultacos especially. All the old “Six-Days” bikes even more so. I have buddy with a couple CZ’s he’s going to restore, since forever, if he still has them…
      Forget about flat-tracking your way out and think, “What happens when the traction comes back?” – and it can, with a vengeance, so keep it spinning a bit so you don’t high-side, and find something to bank-off and scrub traction if necessary – oh Hell, do what I do and fling the bike away and yourself to the ground!

    • “fling the bike away” After I broke my ribs on the TAT trip I would just step away from the bike if it would go past 15° when stopping on uneven terrain as I just could not hold it up. That lead to a lot more time with me mumbling into the commo system for my buddy to come back a bit “yea I dropped it again”. Good thing dirt bikes are fairly stout.

Comments are closed.