Guilty Pleasures

Saw a copy of “Recoil” (Issue 10) on a newsstand up here and bought it for fun. It’s non-existent among the PC flatlander-BayAryans in Googleopolis, and rather a fun read. Monster Gun-Truck outfitting! Yaargh! Fixer AK! Toss the High Point! Celebrity Shmooze (Rob Leatham)! and Dirtbike Bug-Out! Yay Dirtbike Bug-out! I’m a big fan of that and had my XR650L kitted for “earthquake travel.” Also Ian Harrison is a swell bloke with whom I have met and dined and shot-with (Gunblogger Rendezvous!), so seeing him on a DR650 (being a short guy) was a splendid reminiscence back to the Suzuki Press intro ride at Bass Lake that I attended as an “off-road journalist” (for *Cough-SF-Bike*), way-way back in the mid 90’s…
So OK, it’s cool with me, and I liked the approach to Project CheapBore – the fixer-12guage – I should try that since I’m on a fixed income now and don’t have a scatter-gun of the home defense type.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

2 thoughts on “Guilty Pleasures

  1. Big 5 has some sort of tactical 12 gauge on sale EVERY single week. This week’s is a 6-shot Savage-Stevens with ghost ring sights and pistol grip for $219. Pretty hard to “fix up” any clapped-out old scattergun for less than that. Just sayin’….

Comments are closed.