Academic Esperanto: the lexicon of Fail

Few words words are so meaningless, so malignantly mis-written, and so full of inappropriate vowels and misplaced consonants as the verbal diarrhea of the Ivory-Tower Progressive Mullahs as to cause a violent rejection, but here are two: “kyriarchy” and “cis-gendered.” The insanity of Political Correctness is mingled heavily with Newspeak.

Meanwhile in someone’s Mom’s basement room with discarded bottles of cola and empty jars of peanut butter, a bunch of stoners sat around and made-up names for every sub-sub-genre of Music and that now means there’s an Musical-Academic label for everything-damn treble-clef thing. I don’t process Rap or Hip-Hop very well, the musical mechanisms that turn the key are recognizable but jumbled like a Schlage lock – and neither do I “process” “Grindcore.”

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

5 thoughts on “Academic Esperanto: the lexicon of Fail

  1. Well, I have to say, that the term ‘Rock’ is very nearly useless as a descriptive term for music these days, due to over-application. In many cases, attempts to subdivide it are almost no help whatsoever. ‘Pop’ doesn’t help, because it doesn’t distinguish generationally. There is, however, an extent to which terms such as ‘Alternative’, ‘New Wave’, ‘Grunge’, etc. are useful, but again, there’s a lot of crossover and fuzzy borders.

    The degree to which this stuff is useful depends, I think, on what sort of music you’re into. For ardent metalheads, the difference between ‘death metal’ and ‘grindcore’ is probably meaningful. I couldn’t tell you what the distinction is. Same thing for ‘house’, ‘industrial’, and ‘techno’, though I suppose that techno tends more towards electronic music, but then why not call it ‘electronica’?

    There’s a genre called ‘Indie Rock’, but AFAICT, it isn’t confined to those artists who do not have a major label deal.

    Every now and then I have the misfortune of hearing some modern pop stuff, and it reminds me of ’60s era bubblegum music. Blech!

    • I’m not sure which bubblegum was worse, 60’s era or 70’s! I guess I lost track of the Music Industry when it went off into MTV-land and started dividing-down into segments. I never had a record-player or a collection so I was unaware of that until “Grunge” was flung onto the scene as a distinct entity – which I still just equate with smelly flannel…

    • I don’t know how much MTV is responsible for segmentation. Punk pre-dates MTV, as does R&B (which is a genre I’m incapable of describing), and Funk. As do folk-rock, country-rock, and progressive. I do think it reasonable to say that MTV helped popularize offshoots such as grunge and alternative.

      Hard for me to resist mentioning Talkin’ Seattle Grunge Rock Blues

Comments are closed.