My Bad…

A while back Instapundit did a post referencing NEWS YOU CAN USE: Worst College Majors for Your Career. And more recently the venerable Og the Neanderpundit has a post on Worthless. which is the name of a book given to him by Captain Capitalism. You can find it here on Amazon. And they’re righta bout how useless most major are – and I know this because at one point I majored in almost ALL of the Top-Ten Most Worthless – and graduated in…#1 Anthropology!
I also spent (wasted) a confusing amount of time in #2 Fine Arts, drawing fat, nekkid people with a pencil on rough paper, and spent many hours in the darkroom with #3 Film & Photography… and whiled-away too much time burdened by #4 Philosophy and Religious Studies (partial major/TA in Anthro of Religion as a result of growing-up overseas Missionary Kid), and most recently have been floundering in the career (if you can call it that) of #5 Graphic Design (currently unemployed and probably-never-will-be-employed-again).
I did a whole bunch of #6 Studio Arts (metal sculpture!), while attending UCSC which for me was #7 Liberal Arts (Advanced Poetry!), and after College being unskilled (and quite aware of it) was unable to find meaningful work, I spent even more time in the wasteland of #8. Drama and Theater Arts – but as an “Anthropologist” I completely eschewed the idiot-laden #9. Sociology – and at least I wasn’t an #10. English-major – but I had a batshit crazy GF for a while who was. She wrote an entire freakin’ 20-page paper on the use of the third person plural in Shakespeare’s “As You Like it” (or some damn Shakespeare-thing).
Ultimately I probably should have stayed safely ensconced in the Lotus-Land of Academe, but I really felt suffocated by it. My poor parents wanted a(nother) member of the Professoriat, but I failed them too by bailing out.  So after Post-Graduately working at an Archaeology dig in South Dakota, I wandered eastward until I landed at a friend’s house in Arlington, and did pick-up day labor with a bunch of recently released ex-(temporarily) cons as a “landscaper” until I landed a gig as a stripper on N-Street – “stripper” being a guy who assembles advertising-art in a darkroom for a photographic-services house…

And then there was many in-between *things,* like painting scenery in Theater – with a lot of it being low-level and frequently no-thing, before the “Development” (fundraising) support-gig at a Major West Coast Private University where I learned database stuff – just in time for the next lay-off…

Kids don’t try this at home – or rather you WILL be at home most of the time, so Parents, don’t advise kids thusly…

And it’s a good thing my Dad was a Shop-Teacher, so I had some manual dexterity and hand-skills to fall back on.

About NotKlauswitz

Silicon Valley House-husband