Magazine Function Testing

Midway delivered my latest magazine order; a Chip McCormick 8-round stainless-steel, a Gen-u-wine Colt 7-round blue, and another Kimber Kimpro 7-round TacMag – and now it’s time to gather up the assortment and do some testing.

Right away some differences are noted, the old-school split follower design and the modern “improved” (or whatever they call it).

 Magazines need cartridges so I dug around and came up with a bunch of the “bullet-blight” rounds from Reno – the White-box stuff that had crusty-rusty fungal growth, and from somewhere-I-don’t-know-what an OLD mixed box with some Remington-Peters 125-grain hollow-points, and other old ball ammo.
Some of the ammo appeared to be crimped in the middle, and the hollow-points I expected would serve as tap-rack-bang clearance drill material – the old gun was designed only to shoot 230-grain FMJ ball and I figured the nickle plated hollow-points would impede function.

After shooting some pics I gathered it all up with my ear-protection and proceeded to Reed’s Indoor range, not my favorite place because I like shooting outdoors better – but Louis Awerbuck teaches there so it can’t be all bad.  I also brought along the Sig P220 for comparison purposes.

At the lane I hung up a big old target and loaded some magazines.  Actually I asked a neighbor-shooter to load a magazine for me, mixing up the hollow-points with the old and crusty ball-ammo to see what surprise was in store.   Surprise-surprise – no malfunctions with the old HP bullets in the 1943 1911A1.  In fact it readily digested them, spat fire and made holes.  Hmmm.  So I decided to try and find the Colt’s link – the reset click-point where the trigger is immediately good-to-go again.  I had found it on the Sig but the ergonomics were quite different (more on that).


Wow! The Colt’s re-set is a very-very short release compared to the Sig.  So I started blasting, trying to find (and hold) the link, trying to shoot with the thumbs forward, trying to find the right place to put my finger on the trigger – and getting the gun dirty.
After a few magazines and a bunch of holes no malfunctions were apparent.  So I taped up some VisiShot targets onto my backer and loaded some more magazines.


And that’s where I ran into a problem.
I couldn’t see the Colt’s sights – the (tiny) front sight really just disappeared against the black background. So I approximated like it was a dark hallway – some shots were better than others.  I kept emptying magazines and getting the gun dirty until I had a FTF where I had to push the slide into battery – still no stovepipes.

Using the bright green tape I found somewhere I created an aiming point with a lot of contrast that would allow the front sight to stand out.  That was fun too, and after trying it out I think the gun shoots a little to the left.

Well that’s it for now – more later…

As always click the pics for big-sizing.

NOW IS LATER:

With the gun, “February’s Child” dirty I began to experience some failures-to-feed from an old parkerized magazine that had a fake WWII-style “two-tone” finish effect – and an electro-penciled “Colt .45” on the baseplate.  Not a stovepipe, but a failure to go all the way into battery.
I removed it from the lineup.

I fully expected the Viet-Nam (?) era “Colt” magazines to have a hissy-fit with the hollow-points, but none did.
I’m not even sure if they are actually Colt or some clone or not – but now I’m beginning to think they might be.
The new stainless ones ran flawlessly even with 8-rounds in them, but I had an occasional hiccup with an older Kimber magazine – one with the curvy “Kimber” lettering on the baseplate, but the gun was getting pretty dirty after around 100+ rounds.  You could visibly see the front end getting sooty.  So I switched to the Sig P220 for a bit in order to just have a front-sight that I could actually see.

The bright green tape did help to establish contrast and when I hit off to the side the orange showed up nicely.

The gun continued to run even with the hollow-points while dirty, if the stainless magazines were used.
I’m surprised — there’s nothing to indicate that it should digest ’em at all.

And it’s dirty as all get out.

It’s a WWII High Standard barrel, a replacement unit – go figure.

So over 168+ rounds later now it’s time to clean-up and re-lube.  I understand you’re supposed to put some on the barrel where it rubs against the hood.

As always clickez-vous ilPictorio to embigulate.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

4 thoughts on “Magazine Function Testing

  1. The Sig reset is a nice click and predictable but probably *feels* about 1/4″ out there, while the Colt *feels* like it's just a 1/16″. My big old long fingers get in my own way on the Colt! I sincerely want to grab it (the trigger) around the joint rather than out on the pad.

  2. The typical trigger reset on the 1911 is really quite good, even the bad examples seem to run circles around other pistols.

    The sliding trigger of the JMB design is just that good, and really enables the experienced shooter to get back on target with little adjustment to the overall grip (the DA Crunchenticker usually initiates the hand-opening reflex when the first finger extends, I find).

    FWIW, I've never used the factory mags that came with my Springer, and I've had terrific success with the McCormick and Wilson 47D mags.

    Enjoy.

Comments are closed.