Red Dot Range Time II

I hied me hence to TehRange for Practice (first Saturday of the month) with the Noveske in tow and the Aimpoint 9000SC in a pair of A.R.M.S. throw-lever rings, to see how the little carbine would fare in “pseudo F-Class” shooting, this despite having no magnification.

The little CR 1/3N battery had been in there a long time – it was original to the purchase – and had lost most of its electrizicalcious oomph – which turned out to be a boon.
Normally the brightness of the 4-MOA dot, even at about the lowest setting would obscure the entire target and most of the frame at 200-yards.  But now, even cranked all the way up on HIGH, the shiny spot presented an oblate ovoid horizontally, that neatly bisected the black of the 200-yard target – I could barely see the damn thing.
A couple times I unscrewed the battery cap and in time-honored Boy Scout tradition licked the battery to help hasten the flow of electrons and brighten the speck.

Something I’ve been reading lately in Teh Maskgazines is that among Carbine-Course Operators there is a reevaluation of how low can you go, including putting the magazine on the deck as an impromptu bipod.

I imagine with a 30-rounder that might set you up high a bit, but here in Californoodilia there has been sorely emplaced a legal limit to such capacity and my mags are all short 10-rounders.  However that means I can get even lower and place the grip-butt on the deck. Yes indeed that’s against Standard Rules of across-the-course Service Rifle shootin’ – but not F-Class stuff where they employ bipods and bunny-bags – so I gave it a whirl.
After shooting the sighters to see where the impact was headed I made a few click-adjustments, right and down – but it seemed that my early 50-yard zero worked pretty well at 200.

Shooting standard 55-grain Lake City ammo, I’m guessing the bullets in the former Zero were ascending and in the latter descending onto the target.

My offhand naturally sucked despite Teh Dot, but I also think I was occasionally and generously placing shots on the #10 target since it was a bit harder to make-out the numbers, and the whole field of view was occluded by the scope – it was just something I’m not used-to.

 The rapids went pretty well and I got all the hits onto the black in Rapid Prone.

Slow Prone went pretty well also, and I shot fairly quickly with none of the breathing and preparation usually considered necessary during the 20-minute phase, and I finished in probably a good bit less than 10-minutes, with only a couple sevens.  Still I suck to get sevens.

Faintly visible above the #13 target is the dot, offset to the left due to camera/lens manipulations.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~

4 thoughts on “Red Dot Range Time II

  1. I thought about getting a red dot for a long time, and while they are cool. Well, I just like shooting iron sight. Call me a fuddy duddy,however my batteries will never will go dead.

    However, I am saving up for a nice set of powered optics for the A2 AR15 I have.

  2. Good tip, I did that and stored them in the capacious Magpul handle.
    The Pentax Optio W-60 has macro and micro mode (1-cm focus), but for this I had to set it on infinity and juggle the rifle with one hand and the camera/shutter release with the other while about to shoot the sighters.
    It was a lucky shot – two others on macro-mode took pictures of the insides of the Aimpoint!

  3. Wow! That is one dead battery, dude! Get three of them, one to change out and two spares. Wrap the spares individually in Saran Wrap and stuff somewhere on that tactical stock where they won't fall out.

    BTW, what is the camera/lens combo to get that nice photo through the red-dot sight?

Comments are closed.