Victory Caucus

In real life I’m not much of a joiner and base that on personal reticence and the old self-deprecating Groucho Marx quip, “I would not join any club that would have someone like me for a member” – not that I’m as clever or creative as Groucho.
But Blogitopia is a different kind of place and collected in my sidebar are a few blogrolls among which I am happy to be included, and so this too – and to quote Groucho again, “Those are my principles. If you don’t like them I have others.”

But more to the point I’m deeply saddened at the shameless workings and traitorous acts of those working undermine our soldiers and who seek a cheap, personal political advantage rather than victory. For that reason I also signed the NRSC pledge and joined the 32,937 people who decided to say:

If the United States Senate passes a resolution, non-binding or otherwise, that criticizes the commitment of additional troops to Iraq that General Petraeus has asked for and that the president has pledged, and if the Senate does so after the testimony of General Petraeus on January 23 that such a resolution will be an encouragement to the enemy, I will not contribute to any Republican senator who voted for the resolution. Further, if any Republican senator who votes for such a resolution is a candidate for re-election in 2008, I will not contribute to the National Republican Senatorial Committee unless the Chairman of that Committee, Senator Ensign, commits in writing that none of the funds of the NRSC will go to support the re-election of any senator supporting the non-binding resolution.

UPDATE: Resolution in favor of DEFEAT passes in the House. Final vote: 246-182. Seventeen weasely wannabee-popular Republicans join the White Flag Caucus, and two Democrats did the Right Damn Thing: Georgia’s Jim Marshall and Mississippi’s Gene Taylor – Thank You, Gentlemen.
Now for the stuck-on-stupids:

New York Representative James T. Walsh
North Carolina Representative Walter Jones
Maryland Representative Wayne Gilchrest
Delaware Representative Michael Castle
Florida Representative Richard “Lawnboy” Keller
Pennsylvania Representative Philip Sheridan English
Texas Representative Ronald Ernest Paul
Michigan Representative Frederick Stephen Upton
Virginia Representative Thomas M. Davis
Illinois Representative Mark Kirk
North Carolina Representative Howard Coble
Tennessee Representative John J. Duncan Jr.
Minnesota Representative James Ramstad
Ohio Representative Steven C. LaTourette
South Carolina Representative Robert Inglis
Illinois Representative Timothy V. Johnson
Wisconsin Representative Thomas Petri

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander and anti-idiotarian individualist, fleeing the toxic cultural smug emitted by self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~