Range Day Happiness


Went to the range today to finally, once and for all, get the Aimpoint sighted-in. Set the stands up at the 50-yard line and later plinked at 200 – they kinda have the same zero. Yeh, workin’ good. Pics of targets (booooring) tomorrow…
UPDATE: I had finished my build of the Noveske lower, complete with the hideous CA-Legal magazine locking system that requires a tool for removal, and had the Upper mated to the lower for this exercise.

I started by getting the Aimpoint zeroed on the little targets tacked down the left side (see top picture). That took a bunch of clicking on the scope’s windage and elevation turrets.

A gripe I have with Aimpoints like this is they don’t have “witness marks” that establish the vertical or horizontal plane – so if the scope is rotated or canted in the mounts at all, any bit of Left-windage can also result in some “UP” movement, and while trying to dial the dot DOWN you might also be sending it Right… Arrgh!

Anyhow I finally got some good placement results, and then tried shooting at those tacked vertically on the right.

I loaded the magazine with five rounds and fired five-shot rapids from the bench and was pleased with the results – albeit this is only 50-yards. The Aimpoint 2-MOA dot was just about the size of the black…



Later I switched to larger targets with a bigger “black” and did the same. They have a larger “black” but the same sized scoring rings. Yeehaw! Well, good for me anyhow.

And the bottom one I shot Offhand unsupported – crap! Actually better than I anticipated. Watching the bouncing dot move around as you try to hold steady is really a learning experience.

During the second string of fire I took a 200-yard target down and put it up on the stand at position #12 (the black part is 13-inches across) and found some interesting and satisfying results.

From my distance and with the mirage coming up off the ground, even with my spotting scope I couldn’t really tell what was goign on but, every now and again I threw a bullet downrange at it, firing six shots in all (UPDATE: by just holding the dot on the target center).

A bit of vertical stringing obviously.

So OK, I kinda feel I got this dialed-in now.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander & anti-idiotarian individualist-imperialist, fleeing the toxic-grade smug emitted by the self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-S driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~ with guns, more guns, off-road motorcycles, moto-guns, snorkeling, snorkel-guns, home-improvement stuff, and probably home-improvement guns.~

17 thoughts on “Range Day Happiness

  1. (BTW that was a spam comment w/link removed)There’s a couple reasons I chose the < HREF="http://www.noveskerifleworks.com/" REL="nofollow">Noveske<> upper; One is because his whole “thing” is barrels, and the short one’s are made of machine-gun barrel-steel and are chrome lined (cleaning and durability issues). Two, it has the same 1:7 twist as my White Oak Match Upper so it will chew, digest, and spit the same bullet weights and types in similar fashion (familiarity). And Three, it also has a chamber cut with a similar profile to the Wylde chamber in my match upper that’s designed to ease the crossover .223Rem vs. 5.56Mil issues in extraction and yet retain improved accuracy. I got the lower just to match up with the upper as a pair – and because his are made by CMT, one of the supposedly “better” of the few actual lower-makers. Some express a preference for a billet lower like Sun Devil, but I’m told and believe that Uppers make a much bigger difference than lowers, which are really just carriers for the fire-control pieces.Actually the one thing that might make a difference is whether the lower has a caliber designation engraving on it which would/might determine the construction outcome – something about pistol caliber lowers being limited?? I dunno, my Lauer lower has no designation engraved on it while the Noveske does…

  2. ATS will be getting Mike Panone’s new book as soon as its available, too. He’s known as “One Eyed Mike”, and is another one of Those Guys, like Lamb and Vickers. I don’t know a lot about that book yet, but I know some guys who’ve been trained by him, and they always have great things to say. I’m looking forward giving it a good hard reading!

  3. Yeh it came out pretty swell! I used the White Oak LPK and it went to gether pretty nicely. I also went with the full MIAD grip sans finger-grove since I have long fingers – it fills the hand well.I just came across a reference to that book at M4.com and put it on my Amazon shopping list.

  4. Your blaster came out NICE! Was your lower a complete Noveske build, or did you use an LPK and assemble it yourself? I am about a quarter of the way through Kyle Lamb’s book “Green Eyes and Black Rifles”. Its about $35, but so very worth it! One of the tidbits I’ve picked up from it (amongst the huge number of tidbits I’ve picked up from it) is to turn my Aimpoint as far down as I can when zeroing. It has the effect of making the dot smaller (its not really, but your eye sorta perceives it that way) and allows you to sight more precisely. Congrats on the new rifle!

  5. It’s a horrible affliction that must be avoided – besides it’s terribly expensive. I shot $50 worth of ammo just to get pictures. Talk about “Turning Money into Noise”-! And I don’t have enough money or ammo (now) to go to the State Championships in Coalinga anyhow – I’m not camping, dammit! There’s another in the Fall.

  6. DC, you’re not helping with this post. I am finding it ever more difficult to resist the urge to build myself an EBR… shopping around for lowers right now…

  7. How’s the Noveske upper treating you?I’m eyeballing some new hardware, and there may be funds available in the not too distant future, so I’m thinking about expanding the armory to include an AR. Probably something in the A3/16″ configuration.Can’t wait.

  8. Anymore I seem to be shooting vicariously through you…haven’t been in ages…thinking about giving my collection to my son.Keep shooting!

Leave a Reply

