Rainy Day Reloading Post

It’s the first rainy day since back in May, more drizzly than anything, but still three dry months have passed. My wife had to go into work, Closing didn’t go well and there are beans to count and funds to transfer.

I thought I’d reload some .223 – and these are the first steps involved. First use brass that’s clean, I had a bunch of 1-x fired Nosler brass in the Dillon vibrator that was clean. I separated it in the rolling hopper-basket thingy.

Sort your clean brass by headstamp – different cases have different internal volumes and create different pressure curves.

The Black Hills remanufactured ammo was good and ran flawlessly, but it wasn’t entirely Lake City brass…

A couple Winchester cases found there way into the mix.
The range pickup Lake City brass shows a more clearly defined headstamp. It’s fresh and hadn’t been run through a cleaning cycle, and the red ring of sealant shows it’s milsurp stuff that has the mil-crimp and has only been fired once.

I’ll be able to tell the two apart after cleaning by the red circle, unless I just decide to make life easier and clean them separately.

Meanwhile I have a bunch of clean brass to prime. Since I’m switching from Large to to Small rifle primers I need to change-out the shell-holder, primer-feed, and primer-rod.

The little bench-rest primers have a cute little “B” stamped into them!

Then it’s just loading the tray, shaking them to roll turtle, and squeezing them into the brass.
I like to rotate the brass a couple times and give it a couple squeezes, hoping to ensure some kind of uniformity to the depth. You need to also inspect each one to be sure it’s seated below the depth of the brass. Squeeze, rotate, squeeze, etc.

…Squeeze…that felt weird, what have we here…WTF! Jeebus it’s in SIDEWAYS!
Do I try to decap a live primer? I guess so.

No problem, but first I have to set up the newly purchased .223 decapping-die…Yeh ok. It worked-out.
Squeeze, turn, squeeze – only 88 more to go…
After filling one shell-box ass-end up, showing the primers, I start to fill the loading tray, necks up, ready to receive the powder. I finish with 99 done, and one left without a primer.

About NotClauswitz

The semi-sprawling adventures of a culturally hegemonic former flat-lander & anti-idiotarian individualist-imperialist, fleeing the toxic-grade smug emitted by the self-satisfied lotus-eating low-land Tesla-S driving floppy-hat wearing lizadroid-Leftbat Califorganic eco-tofuistas ~ with guns, more guns, off-road motorcycles, moto-guns, snorkeling, snorkel-guns, home-improvement stuff, and probably home-improvement guns.~

Leave a Reply

